Framework Linkage

Topics: Windows 8 JavaScript
Sep 17, 2012 at 4:48 PM

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm new to the player framework and Win8 development in general.  I'm simply trying to get the MS player framework example (provided in the source).  It runs, but ads (which I'm trying to learn how to get running) don't function.

I get lots of RESOURCE_NOT_FOUND errors during compilation for Converters.js and probably everything below that (including the ads Javascript).

And of course, when it comes time to play an ad, the methods aren't defined in Javascript.

I'm using the latest player framework (preview 5) which is installed on a fresh machine so I know nothing is competing with it.

thanks!

Sep 17, 2012 at 5:23 PM

I guess I may have solved this by copying all of the Advertising JS I needed from the downloaded source zip you provide into my system Windows SDK folder.  Is this how it's supposed to work, or did I just kludge something?

thanks!

Developer
Sep 17, 2012 at 5:34 PM

There were some late changes made (when the Win8 RTM was released) to the way WinJS resources are loaded and how resource identifiers work. These were all fixed in MMPPF Preview 5, however, so I'm not sure why you are still getting resource errors assuming you are using the Win8 RTM and the latest version of MMPPF.

Please try removing all Player Framework references from your app, uninstalling anything to do with MMPPF from Tools -> Extensions and Updates, and then closing Visual Studio, reinstalling the latest version of MMPPF, and then re-adding the Player Framework references to your app.

If there is still errors after all that, please check what language you are running in Windows and in your app. Perhaps there is an issue if your app is not using the default en-US language.

Thanks!

Developer
Sep 17, 2012 at 5:41 PM
Edited Sep 17, 2012 at 5:42 PM
benfarrell wrote: